Nigella Lawson – whacky but wonderful

As you can guess from the title of this blog entry, I’m a bit of a fan of Nigella. In fact, she is my number one food hero.

She’s inspiring in the kitchen, doesn’t make you feel guilty for using tinned tomatoes or lemon juice out of a bottle – and always has a yummy short cut to make everyone’s lives just that much easier. What’s not to love?

However, Nigella has become famous for her overzealous use of adjectives and while it seems to annoy the hell out of some people – I find it extremely amusing!

Here are just a few examples of her wordiness, which I came across in just one episode of Nigella Kitchen:

On black olives in a bowl of spaghetti – “I just love how they look like teddy bear’s noses”.

Really? Not too sure that I can ever get a nose out of an olive – but each to their own, I guess.

On biscuit crumbs in a flan tin – “This case of golden crumbs looks like a fairytale crown”.

I think she has a slightly overactive imagination in this case:

And she really seems to have a liking for mini chorizo sausages referring to them as – “…my plumptious beauties”.

I’m not sure “plumptious” is even a word – but Nigella said it, so I guess it is now!!

Nigella may be a little crazy, but I respect the fact she takes a pan of pasta to bed (not even bothering to transfer it to a more manageable bowl) and that as she seductively opens her curtains in the morning, you get a glimpse of a jar of honey and a bottle of tobasco sauce on her bedside table! Now that’s dedication to food!

I’m always fascinated by her endless supply of crazy kitchen devices – not to mention the fact she has a whole entire trunk FULL of cookie cutters – in every shape and size you could ever imagine!

Some of her other devices include:

A brick covered in foil to hold down her quesadillas as they seductively sizzle on the griddle pan (like my attempt at using adjectives, Nigella style?).

A special ring pool opener – to ensure no manicure is harmed during the making of any meal.

The infamous rocking herb chopper – I always wanted one of these – and actually got one for Christmas. I haven’t used it yet – but I’m looking forward to pretending to be the voluptuous Nigella herself when I break it out for the first time.

A stand out Nigella quote for me would be this one – very inspirational, especially for those of us hell-bent on stacking on more flab around our waists:

“There are many eating opportunities in the world and I aim to celebrate as many of them as possible”.

I’m so with you on that one, sister!

And finally, I love how this woman is so down to earth, she even has her own spin on the old-school chip sandwich. In saying that, her version has a twist of lemon … very sophisticated!

“Get some flat bread, lay it out in front of you, slather it with some hommus and put a couple of handfuls of hot chips on top. Sprinkle with coarse salt, a squeeze of lemon, fold it into a package and apply to face “.

Crazy? Yes. Funny? Definitely. Delicious? Absolutely!

Whether you are a Nigella lover or hater – share some of the wordiest things you have heard her say, or the strangest implement you have seen her use in the comments section below. I know there is heaps more than the few I listed above!

P.S – Happy Birthday to my awesome dad, who provides endless inspiration for this blog, and spends so much of his time talking it up to all the customers at his fruit, vegetable and gourmet food store, Anglesea Fruitz (read more about this inspiring foodie heaven here). A girl couldn’t ask for a more amazing and supportive dad!! Love you so much!! XXX

About Lisa Mary Foreman @ Uforic Food

I'm the creator Uforic Food - a blog compiled by three journalists whose talents lie in telling fabulous food stories. I'm on a journey to prove you can be healthy and passionate about food at the same time. Ruza lives in the city and is all about sharing her urban food experiences. Laura is the domestic goddess of the group and loves all things food, family and from the heart. Join us at the Uforic Food table where we share recipes, reviews, and all things food. If you'd like to get in touch, email me at lisamary@uforicfood.com

Posted on May 4, 2011, in Angelsea Fruitz, Random thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What are you thinking?

