Pizza dough made easy

That’s right people – you can make pizza dough without the hassle and it tastes amazing!! This is a recipe for the kind of person who would love to be cool enough to make their own pizza dough rather than using that sub-standard, pre-made rubbish – but is too scared to give it a try.

I was really nervous about this recipe – for two reasons. Firstly, I have never made pizza dough before and I thought a short-cut version without yeast and all the laborious processes that come with it probably wouldn’t work out that well. Secondly – pizza is Matt’s favourite food and if I buggered it up – I would ruin the weekly joy that is pizza night. That would mean that Matt would be sad … and that would be bad!!

Luckily, he was totally thrilled with the result – kindly announcing that I could make pizza, from scratch, for him every week! Lucky for me, it’s easy enough to do that I won’t mind whipping this up for him – making me a very nice girlfriend. YAY!

I must credit Gary and his blog roast potato for the inspiration behind this recipe. I subscribe to his blog and it’s fabulous – so you should check it out. Gary got this from Jamie Oliver’s 30-Minute Meals book – which is all about a “Revolutionary Approach to Cooking Good Food Fast”.

Now, it did not take me 30 minutes to make this pizza. It did take a little longer. But, with practice, I reckon I could do it … easy 🙂 That’s what you want in a weekday meal! Once you make the base, you can put whatever you like on it. I liked what Gary popped on his, as per Jamie’s instructions – but I changed a few things. You’ll also noticed that the cooking method for this pizza is a little different – partly cooked in a frying pan before being put in the oven. I was skeptical – but it worked!

I’m sure this is one meal you won’t have to fight with your kids over – get them involved, ask them what they want on it and let them help with putting the toppings on. They can also help by grating the cheese (depending on age), or maybe you can even get them to chop up some of the ingredients. I know kids and knives are dangerous, but as long as they are the right age, and you watch them and guide them the whole way, they’ll be so happy you gave them such a big responsibility.

PIZZA OF CHORIZO AND BABY BOCCONCINI

The pizza dough:

  • 1 1/2 mugs of self-raising flour
  • 1/2 a mug of tepid water
  • two good pinches of salt
  • 1 tbs of olive oil

Pizza sauce

  • 1/2 a can of chopped tomatoes
  • 1 tsp of basil pesto
  • A good pinch of paprika
  • 1 clove of garlic

Pizza toppings (or you can put on whatever you like)

  • 1 chorizo sausage, cut into rounds
  • 2 rashers of middle bacon, cut into strips
  • 7 balls of bocconcini cheese, cut in half (this cheese is baby mozzarella
  • A light sprinkling of dried oregano

Method:

Chop up all the ingredients for your pizza topping and have them in piles, ready to go. In a frying pan, cook the bacon and chorizo over a medium heat with some olive oil until they get a little colour. Set aside.

At this point – turn on your grill to preheat for later.

In a food processor, put the flour, olive oil and salt and then start the motor running. Add the water slowly, until it forms into a dough ball. I needed a little extra water then suggested to make this happen. All flour is different, which is why it is important to add it slowly, as you may actually need less water.

Lightly scatter some flour on your bench and then tip the dough out (the flour will stop it sticking to your table). Lightly knead the dough into a ball, and then roll out into a pizza shape. I rolled it to a nice thickness (you don’t want it to be too thick, because it will puff up when cooking), and then cut around the edges so that it would fit the frying pan that I have. You’ll need to pick your biggest frying pan. For me, this was a non-stick one – so I heated it to quite a high heat, and then added enough olive oil to cover the bottom and stop the dough from sticking.

But before you put the dough in the frying pan, it’s time to make the sauce.

Add all the ingredients for the pizza sauce to the food processor and whiz it until it’s a nice, smooth sauce. Set aside. (it is worth making the sauce and not using a pre-made one. This is just delicious!)

Now that you have everything ready to go, it’s time to put the dough in the frying pan. Make sure the pan is hot, but not smoking and that you have a thin layer of olive oil, to prevent sticking. Carefully lay the dough in the pan, and then smother the base with the sauce. You may have some leftover, which is fine. You don’t want it to be too wet.

Now for the toppings. Add the bacon and chorizo, sprinkle with oregano and some salt and freshly ground black pepper, and then dot the pizza with the bocconcini. Check the pizza base, using a spatula. Once it’s golden – it’s time to pop it under the grill. Make sure your frying pan can go under the grill (if it has plastic handles, the answer would be no). If it can’t, slide the pizza onto a pizza or baking tray – and then grill until the cheese is nice and melted and the edges of the pizza base are nice and crispy.

I know it’s a rather long instruction list and there’s a bit to do. I was a bit overwhelmed and so have tried to tell you how to do it in the easiest order possible. But, I know the next time I make this, it’s going to be sooo much easier, and quicker. If you can master this, you’ll be set! Mess around with the toppings and have fun with it!

Be Inspired~

Lisa

About Lisa Mary Foreman @ Uforic Food

I'm the creator Uforic Food - a blog compiled by three journalists whose talents lie in telling fabulous food stories. I'm on a journey to prove you can be healthy and passionate about food at the same time. Ruza lives in the city and is all about sharing her urban food experiences. Laura is the domestic goddess of the group and loves all things food, family and from the heart. Join us at the Uforic Food table where we share recipes, reviews, and all things food. If you'd like to get in touch, email me at lisamary@uforicfood.com

Posted on March 13, 2011, in Italian, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Thanks for the namecheck Lisa!

    It’s dead easy isn’t it? As you say it’s harder to describe than it is to actually do.

    I need to try this one out again.

    • Tell me about it Gary! It’s no short description! Hopefully people aren’t intimidated by the words and give it a try. I’ll be making this again Thursday and I know I’ll have it down in no time. Let me know how you go when you try again.
      Thanks again for sharing the original recipe. So glad I found it!
      Cheers,
      Lisa

  1. Pingback: Pizza dough made easy « Uforic Food – Be Inspired~ | pan pizza

What are you thinking?

