Your last meal … the verdict

Last week I asked everyone what your menu would be if you were about to have your last meal on this planet.

I have to say, the last meals readers of Uforic Food chose were varied, to say the least.

Just to give you some ideas – here are a few examples of the responses:

The humble Australian meat pie

John said he would have the old Aussie meat pie (a Balfours, square pie, to be exact) as his last meal – coupled with a Farmer’s Union iced coffee. It wouldn’t exactly be my choice, but I’m sure there are many people out there who would totally agree!

You can't beat a spicy curry

Shelley said she’d love a hot, spicy curry with rice, finished off with a massive bar of milk chocolate. YUM!!

Pea and ham soup ... made from the heart

My dear friend Tabitha said pea and ham soup would be her ideal meal and it would be cooked by her mum because “she makes it with love and I always go back for more”. Awww -there’s nothing like food made with love 🙂

Pizza!!!

Now Ive decided not to take offense to this, but my boyfriend, Matt, said his perfect last meal would be a large meatlovers pizza!! I’m guessing he means a home-made pizza – but I’m guessing most likely one from a pizza shop. Oh well, he loves it and it makes him happy – that’s the main thing!

I thought this was an interesting bunch of responses – they were pretty different then the ones outlines in my earlier post my three famous chef/cooks (read it here). I guess we all have different tastes when it comes to food 🙂

I would love it if you would share your perfect last meal in the comments section below.

Be Inspired~

Lisa

About Lisa Mary Foreman @ Uforic Food

I'm the creator Uforic Food - a blog compiled by three journalists whose talents lie in telling fabulous food stories. I'm on a journey to prove you can be healthy and passionate about food at the same time. Ruza lives in the city and is all about sharing her urban food experiences. Laura is the domestic goddess of the group and loves all things food, family and from the heart. Join us at the Uforic Food table where we share recipes, reviews, and all things food. If you'd like to get in touch, email me at lisamary@uforicfood.com

Posted on January 19, 2011, in Random thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I made the chicken ratattouole as posted on your blog, tonight, and it was absolutely delicious!
    As for the last meal…would have to be Norwegian risgraut. It’s similar to rice pudding but topped with a spoon of margarine in the centre ( so it melts ), sugar, cinnon and raisins . Yum, I adore it .

    • Hi Ruza!!
      So glad you enjoyed the ratattouie! I made it for my dad and he liked it too 🙂
      Norwegian risgraut sounds amazing! I love rice pudding, so I’m sure I’d love that too. You’ll have to whip some up for me some time 🙂

  2. Well Lis, it woiuld have to be a toss up for me, after reading John’s last meal made me think of the Adelaide Pie Flooter HMMM brings back nice memories, OR you could cook up a storm for me and make Roast Lamb. I have to admit jumping on a plane and racing over to Adelaide or having your Lamb Roast … Hard on for me to choose, having my last meal with my daughter sounds alright too. As you know I am not much into desserts but I would settle for a Magnum or maybe Matt would share his favourie caramel armond cake that I bought for him the other day lol Of course a bottle of wine to wash it all down.
    Love ya xxxxxxx mum

    • Mum – it was you who taught me how to cook such amazing roast lambs! I think your tuna mornay would certainly be up there on my list of last meal options! It’s so yummy, yet there is so many awesome mother-daughter memories attached to it too.
      Love you too!!
      XXX

  3. This is a great idea! You’ve got me wondering what my friends and family would choose as their last meal. I think I would pick ginger beef with rice and glazed veggies, and my Opa & Oma’s cheesecake for dessert! mm mm mm.

    • Hey Robyn
      I thought some people might find this topic a little morbid – but I thought it was a curious question.
      Your choices sound faulous, it’s nice how this gets us thinking about our memories of dishes we love. It would seem it’s not just material possesions which can be sentimental, like your Opa & Oma’s cheesecake. While I’m sure it tastes good, I’m sure eating it holds great memories for you too.
      Thanks for stopping by and posting a comment 🙂

What are you thinking?

