What I loved about 2010

I get a real satisfaction from feeding people – I think it stems from my love of having people together, in one place – enjoying each other’s company. What better way to do that then to share food?

The other thing I love about cooking is the generosity of it – and the way you can be so creative and artistic all at the same time.

But what is so special for me is that cooking is the way I open my heart to people – it’s the way I feel most comfortable in showing the people I care about just how much they mean to me.

I still remember the first meal I cooked for Matt. It was our second date and I have never been so nervous about cooking for anyone! I think it was because I was scared to expose a part of myself – to make him a part of something I love doing so much. I have never felt this way about cooking for my mum, dad or brother.

I think it’s because when I cook for someone new I feel exposed and vulnerable. But, as time has gone on, there is no one in my world that I love to cook for more than him – because there is no one I feel more comfortable opening up to.

I have cooked for so many new people this year – and it’s been a wonderful experience for me.

Overall, this year for me has been a cleansing one – about letting go over the past, embracing and enjoying the present and looking forward to the future. I have said goodbye to my little blue house, have been welcomed with open arms into Matt’s family home – and I fantasise endlessley about what it will be like cooking and sharing the home Matt and I will build together in years to come.

This year has made me realise how truly lucky I am – to have wonderful family, friends, but most of all to have an amazing person by my side to ride the waves with – together.

Bring on 2011 – it promises to be another great year, where I will continue to open my heart and show my love through cooking. Afterall, it’s my way of saying I care.

Wishing you happiness, love and contentment in 2011 – and plenty of yummy food too!

Cheers!!!
Lisa

About Lisa Mary Foreman @ Uforic Food

I'm the creator Uforic Food - a blog compiled by three journalists whose talents lie in telling fabulous food stories. I'm on a journey to prove you can be healthy and passionate about food at the same time. Ruza lives in the city and is all about sharing her urban food experiences. Laura is the domestic goddess of the group and loves all things food, family and from the heart. Join us at the Uforic Food table where we share recipes, reviews, and all things food. If you'd like to get in touch, email me at lisamary@uforicfood.com

Posted on December 31, 2010, in Random thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Happy New Year Lis! I hope 2011 brings you even more happiness!
    ps. I’ll be making a Mango, Ginger and Lime Mocktail tonight to bring in the new year… Thanks for sharing the recipe! 🙂

    • Happy New Year to you too Jen! Cheers to the mocktail!!
      I have a feeling 2011 is going to be very different for you with your little one due to arrive soon. Cheers to her and her wonderful mummy! XXX

What are you thinking?

