Day 21 – strawberries to the rescue!!!

It’s officially 8.31pm – and thankfully still the 21st of November!! I thought there was a very serious risk for a while there that I was actually going to fail my 30 Recipes in 30 Days Challenge – due to a lack of time.

The reality of this challenge is that it takes a lot of time to compile the recipes and I am soooo short of it right now. I’m moving house … need I say more? It takes an incredible amount of time to move. But Matt and I got stuck in today and loaded up the trailer full of furniture and we took it to his place. Not only that, I filled the back of the car with my favourite knick knacks (there’s a lot of them!!) and all my clothes. Thankfully Matt’s parents were there to give us a hand to unload and it took nearly no time at all to get everything inside.

I did find time in all the madness to make dinner last night and tonight – and you’ll be seeing those recipes in the next few days. But, I’m craving a little simplicity right now and this warm, gorgeous day had me thinking about summer fruits – and my favourite is strawberries.

Now don’t cringe when you see this gorgeous red fruit in the same ingredient list as balsamic vinegar and pepper – these three really are the most yummy combination. So give this a go – eat it over vanilla icecream, or even on their own – I promise you’ll agree that they are absolutely fantastic!

Strawberries with Balsamic vinegar

  • 1 punnet of fresh strawberries, hulled and cut in half
  • 2 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar (pretty please use a good quality one!!)
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper, or to taste
  • Method:

    Place the strawberries in a bowl. Drizzle vinegar over strawberries, and sprinkle with sugar. Stir gently to combine. Cover, and let sit at room temperature for at least 1 hour but not more than 4 hours otherwise the berries will go mushy and lose their flavour. Just before serving, grind pepper over berries.

    I promise you will love this recipe!

    I’m off to watch Offspring! See you tomorrow!

    Be Inspired~

    Lisa

    About Lisa Mary Foreman @ Uforic Food

    I'm the creator Uforic Food - a blog compiled by three journalists whose talents lie in telling fabulous food stories. I'm on a journey to prove you can be healthy and passionate about food at the same time. Ruza lives in the city and is all about sharing her urban food experiences. Laura is the domestic goddess of the group and loves all things food, family and from the heart. Join us at the Uforic Food table where we share recipes, reviews, and all things food. If you'd like to get in touch, email me at lisamary@uforicfood.com

    Posted on November 21, 2010, in 30 recipes in 30 days, Deserts, Recipes, summer treats and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

    What are you thinking?

