Day 15: Lamb ragu

Welcome to Day 15 of The Inspiration Challenge and the official half-way point of the challenge. YAY!!

When I first came up with the idea to blog about 30 recipes in 30 days – well, I was so excited because I do like a good challenge and wanted to jump in and get going.

Now I won’t lie to you and tell you it has been a breeze to stay inspired and share these recipes – in this time I have finished selling my house, we have put a deposit on a block of land and I have been flat out trying to pack and move … ok, the moral of the story is that I have been soooo busy.

But while I have had so much on my mind – I have enjoyed getting in the kitchen and whipping up the dishes I love in order to measure everything (have I mentioned previously that I detest measuring?), photograph it, sometimes in stages, and then share it with you.

Now I haven’t actually cooked all of the recipes as I have gone along – most of them I know so well that I don’t have to do that – and due to my current living arrangements (half the time spent at my house, and the other at Matt’s) – I don’t cook every night.  But I have cooked 80 per cent of them for the challenge and I think that’s pretty good.

Today’s recipe is another Giana Di Laurentis-inspired creation. I saw it on her show Everyday Italian ages ago and as she put it together – I thought ‘wow, that must taste fantastic’ – I wish there was such a thing as tasteavision. Seeing as it doesn’t exist – I went on the hunt for the recipe. A big feature of this recipe when Giada made it was mint. Now I know mint and lamb are the best of friends – but I just don’t like mint. So I use fresh, flat-leaf parsley instead. But feel free to use mint if it’s your thing.

Lamb Ragu

  • 400gm of rigatoni pasta
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 shallots, chopped
  • 1 clove of garlic, finely chopped
  • 500gm of  lamb mince
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 cup red wine
  • 4 cups the Uforic Food marinara sauce recipe from Day 3 (click here for how to make it)
  • 1/2 cup fresh, flat leaf parsley (or fresh mint, if you like)
  • 1/2 cup of smooth ricotta cheese

Method:

Bring to the boil a large pot of salted water. Add the pasta and cook until tender but still firm to the bite – this should take about 8 to 10 minutes. Drain the pasta.

Meanwhile, in a large frypan warm the olive oil over a high heat. Add the shallots and the garlic and cook until tender, about 3 minutes. Add the lam mince, salt, and pepper and break up the meat as it cooks with a wooden spoon. Cook until it’s browned. Add the wine, scraping up any brown bits from the bottom. Simmer until the wine has reduced by half. Add the marinara sauce and simmer over a low heat for about 10 minutes. Add the parsley or mint and ricotta and stir until mixed. It makes the most lovely noise as you stir the cheese through. You just now it’s going to taste amazing. Add the pasta and stir to coat.

Serve this with some nice, crusty sourdough. It’s a great one to cook if you have a lot of hungry people to feed – this recipe makes enough to feed 6.

See you tomorrow!

Be Inspired~

Lisa

About Lisa Mary Foreman @ Uforic Food

I'm the creator Uforic Food - a blog compiled by three journalists whose talents lie in telling fabulous food stories. I'm on a journey to prove you can be healthy and passionate about food at the same time. Ruza lives in the city and is all about sharing her urban food experiences. Laura is the domestic goddess of the group and loves all things food, family and from the heart. Join us at the Uforic Food table where we share recipes, reviews, and all things food. If you'd like to get in touch, email me at lisamary@uforicfood.com

Posted on November 15, 2010, in 30 recipes in 30 days, casseroles, Italian, Lamb, Pasta, Recipes, winter warmers and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What are you thinking?

