Day 7 – Choc chip cookies

The recipe for Day 7 of The Inspiration Challenge is the kind of thing you won’t find on this blog too often – and that’s because I don’t do deserts!!

Yup, that’s right, this cooking-obsessed gal generally doesn’t cook sweet things.

Should I hang my head in shame that on most occasions the desert component of my menus are usually from the bakery, cake shop or supermarket etc? Well, maybe I should – but we all have things we just aren’t good at – and my downfall is measuring ingredients.

I don’t like getting out the cluster of little cups and spoons and making sure the flour is all level before I pour it into the bowl. I usually drop part of it on the bench and then groan in frustration.

I guess I’m just not disciplined enough to be precise. I love cooking because it allows me to be creative – to add a touch of this and a dash of that.

But I understand that making cakes, biscuits soufles and the like are a science. Get it wrong and ain’t going to work out well and there’s no way you can save it. It’s pretty deflating to spend two hours measuring, beating and stirring to find out the finished product is burnt and totally inedible. I’m utterly jealous of all those talented people out there that can do it – the weighing and sifting etc etc. But look, it’s just not me!

However, I found this recipe in a magazine while waiting at the hospital to have an operation. It was kind of dumb to be flicking through the food pages considering I had been fasting for 12 hours or more and was absolutely starving!! None-the-less I sneakily tore the page out and stuffed it in my hand bag. Very naughty, I know, but I did it and it just so happens that it was a very good thing. I found the page scrunched up in my bag a few weeks later and decided to give them a go. Amazingly, these are quick and easy enough to ensure even I don’t stuff them up – most of the time anyway.

I maintain that the few times they have been a little more than brown on the bottom is simply because I have a hot oven. That’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it!!

Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 100gm of butter, melted and cooked
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp of vanilla bean paste
  • 1 1/2 of plain flour
  • 1 cup of caster sugar
  • 2/3 of a cup of dark chocolate bits

 Pre-heat your oven to 180 degree (celsius) or 160 for fan forced.

Line a baking tray with baking paper.

Using a fork, whisk butter with egg and the vanilla paste, until combined.

Combine flour and chocolate bits in a large mixing bowl .

Add butter mixture and mix well.

Using your hands, knead the dough lightly in the bowl to combine.

Press mixture, two tablespoons at a time, into balls. Place on the prepared tray and flatten lightly, allowing room for the biscuits to spread as they cook.

Bake for 12 to 15 minutes or until golden. Cool slightly.

I like to serve this with a big dollop of double cream, while they are still warm.

I know this isn’t the most profound recipe ever – but they really are yummy and luckily for me, they’re easy to make.

Well this is the end of the first week of the Challenge. I have really enjoyed it so far and I hope you have to.

See you tomorrow with another wicked recipe. Can’t wait.

Be Inspired~

Lisa

 

About Lisa Mary Foreman @ Uforic Food

I'm the creator Uforic Food - a blog compiled by three journalists whose talents lie in telling fabulous food stories. I'm on a journey to prove you can be healthy and passionate about food at the same time. Ruza lives in the city and is all about sharing her urban food experiences. Laura is the domestic goddess of the group and loves all things food, family and from the heart. Join us at the Uforic Food table where we share recipes, reviews, and all things food. If you'd like to get in touch, email me at lisamary@uforicfood.com

Posted on November 7, 2010, in 30 recipes in 30 days, Deserts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Now Cookies is my kind of cooking.. I love baking goodies

    • And I bet you’re great at it too Kelly. Matt’s mum is going to give me some baking lessons soon. Hope she’s got plenty of patience! LOL
      I’d love to be able to cook cakes and all sorts of goodies – but in a way I think it’s a gift that baking is not my forte – I’m round enough as it is 🙂

What are you thinking?

