A restless day – but contentment awaits

I am sooo restless today. Nothing I am doing seems to satisfy me.

I have been doing a fair bit of writing and organising for work. All things that need to get done – but it’s not fulfilling me today, for some reason.

I think it’s the fact that the weather is warm and lovely and bursting with everything that is amazing about spring – and I’m inside! Soooo not where I want to be right now.

But I am looking forward to going home and trying my hand at a recipe I saw Jamie Oliver make on his Jamie at Home show on Foxtel. It was his “leek” themed episode and he made this amazing pasta dish using said vegetable – and panchetta. YUM!!! . He reckons it’s a very traditional Italian dish. However, do you reckon I could find the recipe online? Nope. Damn it. I haven’t had a chance to buy that book yet – so I;m lucky I saved the episode on IQ.

That’s the amazing thing with me – generally, I have a terrible memory. Ask me to return a DVD or buy three things at the shop and I will forget about the DVD – it will roll around in my car until Video Ezy calls looking for it (late fees. Yuck!!) or I’ll come home with five bags of shopping, but only one of the things from the three you asked for. It’s totally nutty. Or I’m totally nutty. Or both?

Anyway, when it comes to cooking – I can memorize a recipe I see on TV after watching it just one time. Well, most of the time anyway. I have pretty much mastered this leek pasta recipe in my head – except I think I’ve forgotten one component – so i just need to check.

I wonder why that is? Maybe it’s got to do with my mind repelling all things boring and clicking into gear when it comes to the things I am really passionate about. I mean returning DVDs and supermarket shopping are not the most exciting things to do – well, not in my book anyway.

So, tonight I will go home and try and appease my restless mind with another (what I am sure will be ) fabulous Jamie-inspired dinner and a glass of wine on the deck with Matt while I am waiting for it to cook.

Enjoying the fabulous weather and longer days with good wine, fabulous food and the best company a girl could ask for – sounds like contentment will be the replacement for this restless day. Very inspiring. Bring on 5pm!!

P.S Promise to let you know how the pasta turns out!!

About Lisa Mary Foreman @ Uforic Food

I'm the creator Uforic Food - a blog compiled by three journalists whose talents lie in telling fabulous food stories. I'm on a journey to prove you can be healthy and passionate about food at the same time. Ruza lives in the city and is all about sharing her urban food experiences. Laura is the domestic goddess of the group and loves all things food, family and from the heart. Join us at the Uforic Food table where we share recipes, reviews, and all things food. If you'd like to get in touch, email me at lisamary@uforicfood.com

Posted on October 5, 2010, in Italian, Random thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Dearest Lisa,
    I am on a diet and have been eating only rabbit food for the past couple of days. And since you’re our masterchef, got any yummy salad receipes???
    Please help. There’s so much tuna a girl can handle in her salad.

    • I’m not sure about the Mastercheffy stuff LOL – but I promise to have a delicious salad recipe up for you tomorrow Ruza – not that you need to diet, my girl!! Stay tuned 🙂

What are you thinking?

