Matt’s meatlovers pasta- inspired by pizza (unusual but totally delicious!)

I have to say when my apprentice in the kitchen (aka Matt, my awesome boyfriend), told me he had been inspired by his love of meat lovers pizza to convert it into a pasta dish – well, I wasn’t all that enthusiastic about the idea.

Now Matt hasn’t cooked much at all, but when we met and he couldn’t shut me up about my love for food and cooking etc etc, and after watching me buzz around the kitchen like a lunatic while explaining why I put salt in with frying onion and quoting Jamie Oliver when describing how certain ingredients are “friends” with each other – like tomato and basil and avocado and lemon juice – that he asked me if I’d “teach” him how to cook. Me? Teach someone how to cook? Scary stuff because I am a total control freak and knew I’d probably end up doing everything instead of actually showing him how and then sitting back and letting him go for it.

Anyway, I was totally chuffed someone would ask me and I thought it was awesome that he wanted to learn – so, the lessons started. It turns out, to my delight, Matt is naturally pretty awesome in the kitchen. He started off just ladelling stock and stirring risotto (he’s now officially the best stirrer on the planet LOL), then cutting and grating stuff – and now he has cooked two of his own meals from recipes – and although he had to just about chain me to the kitchen chair so I wouldn’t get up and stir and fiddle with stuff because I wanted to “help” – both meals, my spaghetti bolognese recipe and Nigella’s Express chicken cacciatora, both were fantastic.  

So after learning the ropes, Matt said he wanted to cook a pasta dish based on his love for pizza – which he’d just about eat every night, if he could, but settles for once a week 🙂 When he told me the ingredients he proposed – well I thought it would be too full on, too meaty – too much going on. But, proving he has a real flair for flavour, Matt cooked it, and it was so delicious I had the left overs for lunch, two days in a row!

So, here’s Matt’s secret meat lovers pasta – it’s meaty, comforting and totally delicious!

Matt’s Meat Lovers Pasta

  • 6 rashers of bacon, cut into medium-size strips
  • 1 chorizo sausage, cut down the middle and diced
  • 6 small rounds of salami (hot or mild, depending on your tastes
  • 1 large onion, peeled and chopped finely.
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 400gm tin of canned tomatoes.
  • salt and ground black pepper, to taste
  • spiral pasta, about two or three cups of dried, cooked in a large pot of boiling, salted water
  • Parmesan cheese to serve

Method:

Cook bacon and chorizo over a fairly high heat with some olive oil in a heavy-based pan until the bacon starts to go slightly brown and the chorizo starts to release its flavours. Add salami, onion and garlic and cook until onions have softened.

Add canned tomatoes, a few good pinches of salt and half a teaspoon of sugar (this curbs some of the acidity that can come with canned tomatoes). Stir, bring to the boil, cover and reduce heat to a low simmer.

While the sauce is cooking, put a large pot of salted water on the stove to boil. Once at a rolling boil, add the spiral pasta and cook until almost tender (about 8 to 10 minutes). Drain pasta and add it to the sauce and allow the pasta to cook until al dente.

Serve with lots of parmesan cheese and some nice crusty bread.

So there you have it – a pasta inspired by pizza – not quite “fusion” food, coming from the same country – but still a bit different. Give it a try and let me know what you thought in the comments section below.

 

About Lisa Mary Foreman @ Uforic Food

I'm the creator Uforic Food - a blog compiled by three journalists whose talents lie in telling fabulous food stories. I'm on a journey to prove you can be healthy and passionate about food at the same time. Ruza lives in the city and is all about sharing her urban food experiences. Laura is the domestic goddess of the group and loves all things food, family and from the heart. Join us at the Uforic Food table where we share recipes, reviews, and all things food. If you'd like to get in touch, email me at lisamary@uforicfood.com

Posted on June 30, 2010, in Pasta, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What are you thinking?

